The LEGO Movie: Edgy Yet Well-Assembled By Lotta Buddah

I grew up playing with LEGOs. I had the giant set which was rare for a girl. I was the envy of all the boys. I spent as many hours building entire neighborhoods and vehicles with LEGOS as I did Lego Movieplanning multiple weddings for my Barbies (Ken was a hussy and married everyone). When I had my own children, I looked forward to the day they were old enough to play with my LEGOs – once they weren’t likely to put the tiny pieces in their mouths or up their noses. But before I could present them with the good stuff, LEGO kits came on the market. All of the pieces were there to make one specific thing – a plane, a Star Wars ship, whatever. I was disappointed on behalf of my children who would no longer have endless possibilities awaiting them when they opened the LEGO box each day. Build the kit and there it was, sitting on the shelf waiting to gather dust – or be unbuilt and built again – how unimaginative. What does all of this have to do with The LEGO Movie? Plenty.

I have carried that perception of the LEGO kits with me until I saw the movie. The LEGO Movie appeals as much to those of us who saw endless possibilities in a box of pieces as to those who cheered in recognition of their favorite kit. With non-stop action, big names behind the voices, a creative and well-thought-out storyline and plenty of humor for both kids and adults, it would make any LEGO-lover happy.

It’s a typical good versus evil, boy-gets-girl storyline but with nice messages such as “everyone is special in their own way,” and in an effort to create a semblance of order, be careful you don’t also squelch creativity and individuality.

There are many funny moments in the movie that adults will appreciate, such as the heroine’s helmet hair that simply shifts from side to side on her LEGO head – the LEGO equivalent of tossing her sexy mane of hair; Micro Managers, robots with octopus-like arms who are sent off to complete tasks; and a relic room with historical findings like a ripped off Band-Aid, complete with tiny hairs on it, placed on a pedestal. There are great effects including waves of LEGO seas and billows of LEGO smoke that are at once impressive and also make you laugh – of course that’s what smoke would look like if you built it with LEGOs! The unexpected turn at the end is funny and sweet and wraps up the entire movie beautifully.

The LEGO Movie stars the voices of Chris Pratt, Will Ferrell, Will Arnett, Elizabeth Banks, Liam Neeson and Morgan Freeman, proving it must be easy money to do these animated films. And, yes, of course, The LEGO Movie is one big advertisement for LEGO’s but I can forgive that. While being just a fun movie anyway, it encourages imagination (with or without kits) and creativity. I couldn’t wait to get home and get out my old, mega box of LEGOs. Yes, I still have them. Don’t judge.

Join us in Good Taste:

“Like” In Good Taste Denver on Facebook.

“Follow” In Good Taste Denver on Twitter.

Pin it! on Pinterest.

InGoodTasteDenver on Instagram.

Give us a tumble on Tumblr.

Subscribe to our YouTube Channel.

Write to us at ingoodtastedenver@gmail.com.

(c) The InGoodTasteDenver.com blog and photos are property of In Good Taste Denver and CDM Communications unless otherwise mentioned. Use of photos or text is prohibited.

Leave a Reply

